Scottish Association for Music Education logo

SAME Membership

Free membership of SAME is available to all involved in Music Education in Scotland. Sign up to become a member – use the form here.

Read More

About Us

SAME Committee
SAME Committee

The Scottish Association for Music Education (SAME) is the professional association which represents all those involved in music education.

This includes Nursery and Primary class teachers and specialists, Secondary class teachers, instrumental tutors, AS teachers and those within Education Authorities with responsibility for music. The experience and expertise of its members has contributed to music education in a wide variety of fields.

There are strong links with the provision of music education at Further and Higher levels and also links with community education and education in prisons.

SAME helps its members to deliver high quality music education by:

  • Enabling contact with colleagues through conferences and mailshots
  • Contributing to the creation of a strong unified voice for music education nationally
  • Promoting the professional development of its members
  • Sharing good practice in music education
  • Regular distribution of a magazine
  • Sending regular email messages and news of current developments
  • Providing an on-line discussion forum and resource exchange
  • Consulting on issues of importance to education, to teachers and to music
  • Collaborating with other appropriate organisations

SAME membership is freely available to all involved in music education in Scotland. An elected committee drawn from across the country and representing a variety of sectors and stakeholders is responsible for the running of the Association.

Scottish Association for Music Education Committee Members

Pauline Black University of Aberdeen
Julie Carrie East Ayrshire Council
David Lambert Arran High School
Robert Leadbeater Kirkintilloch High School
John McGarvey Johnstone
Mandy Miller (Chair) Lochgelly High School
Donna Minto Aberdeenshire Council
Mae Murray North Ayrshire
Kathleen Picken Dumfries & Galloway Council
Ronnie Robertson (Vice-Chair) East Dunbartonshire
Fiona Sellar Nairn Academy
Shonagh Stevenson
South Ayrshire Council
Moira Summers
University of Glasgow
Louise Timney
Dollar Academy
Melvyn Turnbull Breadalbane Academy
Graeme Wilson (Secretary/Treasurer) Kirkcaldy
Louise Wood Argyll and Bute

© 2012